Controlling User Access

With Virteom, website administrators can choose which members have access to certain areas on the site. For example, you would want your blogger to have access to create and edit blog pages. You can make different levels of users, from customers and staff, to full admins. Let's get started.

After logging in as an admin, select Dashboard (or Manager) from the top bar. Then, on the left hand side, select Members. This will bring up a screen showing all of the members who are registered to your site. You can also search for a member's name using the Search field. Click on Edit next to a member's name.

Here is the user access part of the next screen. You can edit contact information, change a user's password, and update user access from this area.

Editing Access and Permissions

Box 1 is a list of all of the administration features a user has access to. In this example, this user has access to all features. Explore the list on your site and determine how you wish to set up access.

Box 2 is a list of all of the web pages on your site. Again this user has access to edit all of the pages using the Editor section of the Virteom toolbar. In this way, you can select who has permission to edit certain pages of your site. If no pages are selected, the option to bring up the editor will not show.

If you have any locked private pages on your site, you can quickly set up certain presets with the Member Types section under Members on the left hand menu. This will allow you to set up a list of permissions and save the member type to apply in the screen above.

For example, you can set up a user type such as a customer, distributor or an administrator. Each user type can have different levels of access to private locked pages in your website. You can also set up different levels of administration this way. Also, selecting no options in box A, but selecting a few choices in box B will only give that user permission to edit those specific pages, without giving them any further access into your site.

User information

To the left of the boxes (shown above) is a long column with many form fields. This is where you add/edit/update user information such as password, company, address, member type and more. All you have to do to change any of these is simply type information in each field and click save.

After changing any information, go test to make sure it was implemented correctly. For example, if you change your password, go logout and back in immediately to ensure the new password was saved.

member management system

This member management system works well for some of the following scenarios...

  • Ecommerce sites, for customers, administrators and distributors
  • As a central point to share files and documents for certain customers
  • Allow certain administrators different levels of access to edit certain pages in the site
  • Allow certain administrators to have access to certain features in Virteom versus others.
  • Update user profiles, emails and passwords
Most Recent

How to Add, Edit and Delete Photo Galleries Using PhotoGrid

By Olivia Justice
July 24, 2019 Category: Learning, Modules

How to Add, Edit and Delete Photos in the PhotoGrid Module Does your Virteom powered website have a photo gallery on it? Adding new photos to your gallery is really simple and even allows you to upload multiple images at one time. In this how-to article, we explain how to add new photos to the gallery, remove photos from a gallery, add captions and delete your photo gallery. Logging-In First things first, you must log-in to your Virteom powered website. You can do this by visiting your website and adding /virteom at the end. This will take you to the log-in screen for the site. Enter your email address in the email field Enter your password in the password field Click Login Navigate to the PhotoGrid Module Once youre logged-in you click Dashboard from the top gray editor menu. After clicking Dashboard use the left sidebar menu to navigate over to Modules. The module that handles gallery images is called PhotoGrid. Find PhotoGrid in the menu and click it. Now that you

How to Whitelist Emails

By Hayley Burke
July 08, 2019 Category: How To

Dont you hate it when you are waiting on an email from someone, and it never seems to come through, then days later you realize it was in your junk or spam folder the whole time? This is a common occurrence, especially these days with all of the unnecessary spam we get. That why you should whitelist email addresses that you know are from senders who have valuable information for you or contacts that you use frequently! What Does it Mean to Whitelist an Email? Whitelisting an email address is essentially just a list of approved senders so that you dont lose anything important to the junk folder. This practice is best for people who are signed up for any email subscriptions. How to Whitelist Emails: Whitelisting is an easy one-time process that allows you to never miss an email again. Though the process varies slightly based on the email platform, you use. Below are instructions on how to whitelist emails across the major email systems. Android Mail AOL Mail Apple Mail(OS X and

Why Do My WordPress Plug-Ins Keep Changing?

By Olivia Justice
June 18, 2019 Category: WordPress

WordPress is apublishing platform for managing your digital presence and establishing your brand. Even if there are no built-in options, themes, or features that you want or need, there are thousands of third-party plugins and web apps that can be integrated seamlessly. According to W3techs, WordPress has 58.8% of the CMS marketshare. However, what most site admins discover as they develop and expand their WordPress powered site, every plugin you install requires a steady stream of updates to keep all features working properly. Essentially, the maintenance is a nightmare. Developers update, upgrade, add-on and change plugins on what feels like a daily basis. If you dont have the technical knowledge to read through the plugin updates or version notes, you may be upgrading to a plugin that is not compatible with the version of WordPress youre running. And even if you have the technical knowledge, you may find that an update to one plugin has completely messed up the functionality of another