Why Do I Need to Clear My Cache?

If you have owned a computer for any length of time you likely have experienced the dread of internet slow down. If it gets bad enough that you need to reach out for technical support one of the first things that they will tell you to try is to clear your browser cache. But what does clearing your cache even do? Why does it help?

What is Your Browser Cache?


Your cache is the name for a portion of your hard drive that is dedicated to storing browser files that your browser determines it may need to use again. Web pages are packed with information, and this information is stored in dozens, hundreds and sometimes thousands of files for just one site. Your browser will cache portions of the page for you so in future visits load times are quicker, improving your overall internet experience.

Why Should I Clear my Cache?

Your browser will store things like files, CSS styles, JavaScript scripts, images and other multimedia content. That is why when you’re working with a web development firm and request updates like font changes (color / size) we request you clear your cache frequently to see these changes in real-time. 

When changes are made to your website like updating a logo, changing a picture, increasing font or changing colors, you may run into trouble your browser's cache. Occasionally your browser will load your cached info instead of updated portions of the page that you are desiring to view. This can result in slow down, image errors or not seeing the same thing your web development firm is telling you.

For this reason, if you are working with web pages and making changes to the site. It is important to clear your cache so you are able to see the changes as they will appear to anyone viewing the page for the first time.

What Does Clearing my Cache Do?

Clearing your cache exactly what it sounds like. You are deleting all saved information from your local hard drive that has been stored in the cache. When you return to internet websites that you have been to in the past your browser will “think” you have never been to that page before and cache fresh updates info from the websites. 

How Often Should I Clear my Cache?

If you regularly work with web pages and make changes other than simple blogging you should clear your cache regularly. Ensuring that you will be able to see any changes that have been made to your site as they are made.

If you do not make many webpage alterations or want to see web alterations in real-time you might be better off only clearing your cache once a month or bi monthly.

How do I clear my cache?

Clearing your cache is different for every browser. Please see our instructions below for your specific browser:

Clearing cache in Chrome

  1. In the browser bar, enter: chrome://settings/clearBrowserData
  2. Select the following:
    • Cookies and other site and plug-in data
    • Cached images and files

      From the Obliterate the following items from: drop-down menu, you can choose the period of time for which you want to clear cached information. To clear your entire cache, select the beginning of time.
       
  3. Click Clear browsing data.
  4. Exit/quit all browser windows and re-open the browser.

Clearing Cache in Firefox

  1. From the History menu, select Clear Recent History.

    If the menu bar is hidden, press Alt to make it visible.
     
  2. From the Time range to clear: drop-down menu, select the desired range; to clear your entire cache, select Everything.
  3. Next to "Details", click the down arrow to choose which elements of the history to clear; to clear your entire cache, select all items.
  4. Click Clear Now.
  5. Exit/quit all browser windows and re-open the browser.

Clearing Cache in Microsoft Edge

  1. In the top right, click the Hub icon (looks like three horizontal lines).
  2. Click the History icon, and then select Clear all history.
  3. Select Cookies and saved website data, and then Cached data and files. Click Clear.
  4. After the "All Clear!" message appears, exit/quit all browser windows and re-open the browser.

Clearing cache in Safari

  1. Choose History from the menu bar
  2. Clear History
  3. Click the pop-up menu > Then choose how far back you want your browsing history cleared

 


If you are still experiencing issues seeing reported changes from Virteom -- please email our customer service desk for immediate assistance. 

Loading Form...
Posted by Virteom in Clear Cache

Most Recent

How to Add, Edit and Delete Photo Galleries Using PhotoGrid

By Olivia Justice
July 24, 2019 Category: Learning, Modules

How to Add, Edit and Delete Photos in the PhotoGrid Module Does your Virteom powered website have a photo gallery on it? Adding new photos to your gallery is really simple and even allows you to upload multiple images at one time. In this how-to article, we explain how to add new photos to the gallery, remove photos from a gallery, add captions and delete your photo gallery. Logging-In First things first, you must log-in to your Virteom powered website. You can do this by visiting your website and adding /virteom at the end. This will take you to the log-in screen for the site. Enter your email address in the email field Enter your password in the password field Click Login Navigate to the PhotoGrid Module Once youre logged-in you click Dashboard from the top gray editor menu. After clicking Dashboard use the left sidebar menu to navigate over to Modules. The module that handles gallery images is called PhotoGrid. Find PhotoGrid in the menu and click it. Now that you

How to Whitelist Emails

By Hayley Burke
July 08, 2019 Category: How To

Dont you hate it when you are waiting on an email from someone, and it never seems to come through, then days later you realize it was in your junk or spam folder the whole time? This is a common occurrence, especially these days with all of the unnecessary spam we get. That why you should whitelist email addresses that you know are from senders who have valuable information for you or contacts that you use frequently! What Does it Mean to Whitelist an Email? Whitelisting an email address is essentially just a list of approved senders so that you dont lose anything important to the junk folder. This practice is best for people who are signed up for any email subscriptions. How to Whitelist Emails: Whitelisting is an easy one-time process that allows you to never miss an email again. Though the process varies slightly based on the email platform, you use. Below are instructions on how to whitelist emails across the major email systems. Android Mail AOL Mail Apple Mail(OS X and

Why Do My WordPress Plug-Ins Keep Changing?

By Olivia Justice
June 18, 2019 Category: WordPress

WordPress is apublishing platform for managing your digital presence and establishing your brand. Even if there are no built-in options, themes, or features that you want or need, there are thousands of third-party plugins and web apps that can be integrated seamlessly. According to W3techs, WordPress has 58.8% of the CMS marketshare. However, what most site admins discover as they develop and expand their WordPress powered site, every plugin you install requires a steady stream of updates to keep all features working properly. Essentially, the maintenance is a nightmare. Developers update, upgrade, add-on and change plugins on what feels like a daily basis. If you dont have the technical knowledge to read through the plugin updates or version notes, you may be upgrading to a plugin that is not compatible with the version of WordPress youre running. And even if you have the technical knowledge, you may find that an update to one plugin has completely messed up the functionality of another